Perspectives on the Future of Weather Forecasting from a Distinguished Professor: Dr. Lance Bosart

Every profession has its legends. In basketball, Larry Bird or Michael Jordan come to mind. In music, you have to mention the Beatles, Prince, or Springsteen. In meteorology, a professor that comes to mind for many is Professor Lance Bosart of the University at Albany. If you are not familiar with him then you have two homework assignments that anyone that loves the weather will gladly accept: (1) Google him and learn about all of the contributions that he has made to the field of meteorology and (2) Watch Weather Geeks Sunday (more on that in a moment).

Dr. Bosart has been honored at some of the highest levels of the meteorological community including the American Meteorological Society Jule Charney Award and the National Weather Association Lifetime Achievement Award. Anybody that studies or applies concepts of synoptic and dynamic meteorology is likely to be using some thought, principle, or concept associated with the thinking of Dr. Lance Bosart. Bosart has contributed to various topics according to Albany’s website including “planetary-scale and mesoscale meteorology, particularly involving winter storms, hurricanes, organized convective systems and the predictability of individual flow regimes, as well as weather analysis and the forecasting process.”

He joins me Sunday to discuss what he has learned over his illustrious career, what he thinks of forecasting in the future will look like and where we can we make our biggest advances in the coming years.  You will particularly want to hear his thoughts on the future of weather forecasting and the role of humans. But what makes this episode of Weather Geeks a classic are the stories. Bosart shares his relationship with the legendary Edward Lorenz and some pretty amusing experiences along his “weather” journey.

Class is in session Sunday for all Weather Geeks and trust me, this is a rare opportunity to pick the mind of one of the most significant contemporary scientists in our field. The show always airs Sunday at Noon ET (11 am CT, 10 am MT, 9 am PT).

Please follow @WxGeeksTWC and @DrShepherd2013 on Twitter.
Find us on Facebook at WxGeeks and Dr. Marshall Shepherd.


Join the Discussion


One Comment


  1. I truly wish this show had lasted more than an half hour. I’d love to hear more from Dr. Bosart. Could you bring him back?