Team Rubicon: Serving Disasters

For many, 2017 will be remembered as a year of natural disasters. Nature delivered Hurricanes Harvey, Irma, Maria, Nate, and Ophelia. They were devastating reminders of the destructive power of landfalling hurricanes. Mexico experienced significant earthquake activity, and California’s wine country was ravaged by wildfires.

As weather geeks, many of us are fascinated by the awe and power of nature’s various phenomena. It is important to remember that disasters can change lives forever. As fascinating as hurricanes or tornadic storms are from a scientific perspective, they should not be cheered for because they bring suffering and destruction when they impact populated areas. Because outcomes from such events are inevitable, it is important that organizations like Team Rubicon exists for communities worldwide.

Team Rubicon unites the skills and experiences of military veterans with first responders to deploy emergency response teams to areas ravaged by natural disasters. This week on Weather Geeks we are joined by the man responsible for getting the teams in place, Dennis Clancy, to discuss how Team Rubicon came to be and how their mission evolved during this past historic and devastating hurricane season.

As we approach the time of year where many reflect on what they are thankful for, Team Rubicon stands as a beacon of home for many people facing difficult circumstances and we thank them.

I hope you will join us on Weather Geeks. The show always airs on The Weather Channel Noon ET (11 am CT, 10 am MT, 9 am PT).
Please follow @WxGeeksTWC or @DrShepherd2013 on Twitter.

Find us on Facebook at WxGeeks (Link) or Dr. Marshall Shepherd (Link)


To see how you can help with relief efforts (and support Team Rubicon), check out The Weather Channel’s Forecasting Hope Charity Auction 


Join the Discussion