Stunning Supercell and Tornado Simulations

I have simply run out of superlatives to explain how cool what I saw at a recent Weather Geeks taping is. Since we are all fascinated by weather, it is very likely that you have seen pictures and videos of supercell storms or tornadoes. However, I had not seen anything like I saw this March when Leigh Orf visited The Weather Channel. Orf is a scientist with the Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies (CIMSS) at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. He is using some of the nation’s fastest computers, computer models and some ridiculous fine-scale resolution to simulate the meteorological environment of one of nature’s most awe-inspiring and dangerous offspring. His simulations of supercell storms and resultant tornadoes were scientifically accurate and stunning to see.

This week on Weather Geeks Leigh tells us the story of these storms and why he wanted to simulate them in such a cutting-edge way. He also explains why this research is just not about the “wow” factor and may lead to improved severe weather forecasting or warnings. The simulations that we show are so amazing that they literally got me and the guest out of our seats. You will see what I mean when you watch the show. If you want an appetizer of Sunday’s main meal, visit http://news.wisc.edu/a-scientist-and-a-supercomputer-re-create-a-tornado/#sthash.OS8lZqi1.dpuf

We all love weather so make sure you join us Sundays on The Weather Channel for Weather Geeks. The show always airs Noon ET (11 am CT, 10 am MT, 9 am PT).

Please follow @WxGeeksTWC or @DrShepherd2013 on Twitter.

Find us on Facebook at WxGeeks (Link) or Dr. Marshall Shepherd (Link)


Join the Discussion


2 Comments


  1. I Really enjoyed the show! There was no mention of goes-r/goes-16 & what that might ‘bring to the table’.